How to Delete SharePoint Site
Posted On June 10, 2019
When a project is already accomplished, the next crucial decision that a team must consider is whether to retain a SharePoint site or to delete the entire site immediately. Before you delete a SharePoint site, you must first consider a lot of things. There are advantages and disadvantage to deleting SharePoint site, but if you and the team have already decided, then it’s fine.
A SharePoint Online site has a lot of web parts that contain lists, libraries, documents, third-party applications, numerous landing pages, calendars, and more. Companies use SharePoint site to provide their employees a better way of collaboration on various projects.
To delete SharePoint site means to free up space. All these web parts consume storage in SharePoint Online which is why there will come a time when deleting is the best option to get more space. Deleting a SharePoint site is also understandable if a project has been completed, and the site no longer serves its purpose.
Deleting SharePoint Site in SP Online, SP Server
You can only delete SharePoint site or subsite in SharePoint Online or SharePoint Server, if you have administrative permission or full control permission. If your boss asks you to delete a SharePoint site and you are unallowed to do so, just ask assistance from your site administrator or manager. Microsoft ensured that SharePoint sites or subsites can’t easily be deleted for security purposes.
There are different permission levels in SharePoint. The default permission levels are the following: view only restricted read, manage hierarchy, approve, read, contribute, edit, and design. These default permission levels can be changed.
The limited access and full control permission levels are the ones that can’t be accessed by anyone. The full control permission level contains all available SharePoint permissions. This level is assigned to Owners group and can’t be customized or deleted.
The limited access permission level allows a user or group to skim through a site page or library to access specific content items even if a user isn’t authorized. One cannot assign limited access permission directly to a user or group; this level is automatically assigned by SharePoint when one provides access to a specific item.
How to Delete a SharePoint Site in SP Online
If you’re using SharePoint Online, here’s a reminder that you need to note. When you delete SharePoint site, you also remove subsites, content, and user information that are all part of the site. Also, if you delete a group connected to a team site, you also remove the Office 365 group that’s connected with it.
The first thing that you should do is find the group-connected team site or communication site that you want to be removed permanently. Click Settings at the upper part of the site. You’ll see Site information; click it. Click Delete site that’s found at the bottom of the Edit site information field.
If you want to delete team sites, just go to Delete Office 365 group field. Make sure you check the box where you confirm that you agree in deleting the group and all its associated resources. Then click the Delete button.
You can also delete communication sites by going to Site Setting then to Delete This Site pane. There’s a warning there that says you are about to delete the web site. Once you’re sure to continue with the process, click Delete button at the bottom part of the pane.
To delete a SharePoint Server 2019 team site, you need a full control permission level. To delete the team site, simply navigate to the team site you want to delete. Go to Settings and click Site Settings or Site information. Click View all site settings.
Some pages might ask you to select Site contents and then Site settings. Inside Site Settings, you’ll find Site Actions. Under Site Actions, click the Delete this site option. A warning will be displayed to you, confirming your action about deleting the site. If you’re already sure to continue the process, click Delete button.
You can also delete SharePoint Server 2019 communications site. Go to Settings and click Site information. Under the Edit site information pane, click the Delete site option. A caution popup will be shown, stating that you’re about to delete the site and its associated content. Click the Delete button.
If you want to delete a SharePoint Server 2019 subsite, simple go back to Settings and to Site information. Click Delete site option under Edit site information field. Click again Delete button to confirm action.
There are different ways to delete SharePoint site depending on what version you’re using. See table below for a quick guide.
Recover Deleted SharePoint Sites
Microsoft knows that recovering files and information is necessary and always needed. The company made sure you can recover deleted SharePoint site, especially if you accidentally deleted it.
Sites that were already deleted are stored for 93 days. After the 93-day storage period, sites and all content and settings are permanently deleted, including libraries, lists, subsites, and pages.
You can recover deleted sites using the latest SharePoint admin center. Just sign in to https://admin.microsoft.com as a global or admin of SharePoint. You can see SharePoint on the left pane under Admin centers. If you can’t find it, try selecting Show all to display the list of admin centers.
If you’re using the old SharePoint admin center, choose Try it now to open the new SharePoint admin center. Under Sites on the left pane, click Deleted sites. Choose the site that you want to recover by clicking Restore.
If you’re using the class is SharePoint admin center, just sign in again to https://admin.microsoft.com. Find Admin centers and select SharePoint. If the new admin center pops up, just select Classic SharePoint admin center located in the left pane.
Once you’re all set, find the site collection page of the classic SharePoint admin center. You’ll see Recycle Bin. Click the box right beside the site collection that you want to recover. Then, click Restore Deleted Items.
There you go. We hope we helped you delete SharePoint site and subsites as well as recover sites. Let us know in the comment section below on what you think about this article. Don’t forget to share this blog on your social media accounts.